Sauerkraut

In my microbiology class, we’ve been discussing fermentation. This seemed like the kickstart I needed to try something I’ve been wanting to for a long time: homemade sauerkraut. The principle is quite simple: salt some cabbage, let that draw out the water, soak it under its own brine for a couple of weeks and let the anaerobic fermentation commence. Since this was my first kraut, I went simple–green cabbage and salt. The food processor made quick work of the two heads of cabbage I brought home and they fit perfectly into a gallon food-grade bucket. Add a plate that fit inside to hold the cabbage under the brine and a growler full of water for weight, and I think I will be eating some awesome sauerkraut in just a couple of weeks!

In other news, I have been itching to get out in the garden! We’re out of town next week, but when we get back I am planning to start some seeds indoors in preparation for spring planting. We also signed up for a CSA this summer. We had been getting local produce through a food buying co-op, but with our schedules it was getting too hard to make that work. Hopefully we’ll get all the awesome produce we need between the CSA and the farmer’s market!

Leave a Reply

