Four Legged Friends

I’ve often found it easier to make friends of the four legged persuasion rather than the two legged. I’ve made several of these sorts of acquaintances since I’ve arrived in New Zealand.

First there was Oliver (Ollie), the cat belonging to the Winemaker I’m working for here in New Zealand. I met him when I got in late Saturday night.

20140318-204049.jpg

On Sunday I got settled into my accommodations here in town. I’m staying with a lovely woman named Marquita who has a fabulous cat named Gypsy. Gypsy has decided that we’re friends and has taken to grooming me when she gets a chance. She’s currently watching me type this.

20140318-204243.jpg

I started at the winery on Monday and so far I’m really enjoying it. Everyone I work with is great and although there are a few things to get used to (such as the fittings–no triclovers here!), I think it’s going to be a good fit.

One of the perks of the job is that we have our own commercial espresso machine for harvest. My first orientation to the winery was learning how to use it. By the time I get back to the states I’ll be a full fledged barista!

20140318-204602.jpg

And yes, there are four legged friends at the winery as well. This is Winston:

20140318-204738.jpg

Still working on making friends of the two-legged variety. One of these evenings I plan on venturing into town to have a drink at the local pub and hopefully meet some people. Until then, at least I have a cat to snuggle.

Leave a Reply

