Day One

As promised to several of you, I’ll be updating with the goings on while I’m down under. Sorry blog that I abandoned! Looks like you’ll be getting some use after all.

Thoughts from the plane…

This is absolutely the longest flight I’ve ever been on.

I left Portland yesterday morning with a tearful goodbye to Kris at the airport and spent a lovely afternoon with my parents in Los Angeles. I got to go say hi to Pam and many of my former coworkers at Fox then have a lovely farewell dinner with my godfather. He insisted on a selfie.

My flight left LAX at 11:55 pm, which means we started boarding at 11:10. It’s amazing how many people can fit on a 747. Also amazing that they can keep it in the air for nearly 15 hours.

I managed to stay up for the first 4 hours or so of the flight then get some decent sleep, so I feel pretty well adjusted to Sydney time. Really, the only down side is that the in seat headphones only worked on the right side. Kris, thank you for setting my iPad up with movies. It was a huge help.

I still have a lot of unknowns about where I’ll be staying once I get to NZ tomorrow, but I’m going with the “I’ll figure it out” mentality, which has always worked for me in the past. Right now I’m more concerned with getting the Australian customs agents to not charge me duty on the wine I’m bringing to NZ. We’ll see it they have mercy.

I miss everyone at home already, but I’m excited for my big adventure down under. Cheers, mates!

Leave a comment